The Julia H. Dodds Award

The Julia H Dodds Junior Girls award was established in 1992 to honor an outstanding graduating high school senior.  The award is in honor of Mrs. Dodds, who was the first 50-year member of the Illinois Women’s Golf Association.

The Julia H Dodds Junior Girl’s award winner is a resident of Illinois who is an outstanding student, leader, positive role model and all-around talented athlete.

Over the past 25 years, this award has been given to accomplished young women as they embarked on their college careers. We heard from several of those past winners during this silver anniversary year, and all of them said that friendships and experiences they made through golf were the most rewarding. This year, the IWGA presented the award to two individuals, Alyssa Gromala and Allison Kinsinger.
Alyssa attends Providence Catholic High School in New Lenox, and was named an Illinois State Scholar for her excellence in scholastics. She has been a 4-year member of the golf team, is active in many school service programs and the local Habitat for Humanity, particularly being recognized for her peer mentoring across all these activities. She heads off to the University of Wisconsin this fall where she will major in Biology, with a goal of becoming a dermatologist, as well as playing on the school’s golf team.

Allison attends Washington Community High School in Washington, where she is ranked 1st in her class. She has played on the varsity golf team all 4 years, served on Student Council, including as Vice President this year, and participated on marching band, concert band, and musical theatre. She has been deeply involved with Wyldlife, a ministry program devoted to middle schoolers. She heads to Butler University this fall, where she will major in Health Sciences, with a goal of being a physician’s assistant specializing in reconstructive surgeries, and play on the golf team.



Applications are made on-line at the IWGA website ( Criteria for the Julia Dodds Award include: Character, Scholarship, Leadership, and Sportsmanship.

Those interested in applying should send documentation of academic status (year in school and gpa) and name of high school.  Two letters of recommendation are required and can be from high school principal, high school teachers, or  anyone who has knowledge of the applicant. Each applicant should write a personal narrative which describes your extracurricular activities, expresses things that have impacted your life, and outlines your plans for the future. Also, please enclose a recent photo.

Application will be accepted beginning on February 1 and deadline for submission is April 3. 

The $2,000.00 award will be directed to the award winner’s college to assist with her educational expenses. If the honoree is unable to accept the cash award, the IWGA will determine an organization to receive the money in her honor.

Julia H Dodds Award Application Form

Questions should be e-mailed to:

Janice Kimpel

Julia Dodds Award Winners

2018 Illinois State Women's Senior Championship Registration Deadline Is 8/15/18. Dismiss