Previous Tournament News/Results


2017 State Senior Champion is Jan Bowers from Lincoln

3-Hole Play-Off Decides the 2017 Illinois State Women’s Senior

The third and final round of the Illinois Women’s Golf Association (IWGA)’s Senior Women’s Amateur Championship was held today, Thursday, September 21, 2017 at Rockford Country Club.

Jan Bowers, Lincoln, and Lucy Sievers, Wilmette, battled it out over three play-off holes, after they both finished with a 243 during the regulation play of 54 holes.  Jan Bowers won the play-off  with a par, making her the Champion of the 46th Illinois Senior Women’s Amateur Championship, with Lucy Sievers finishing in second place.  Dee Anne Stolarik, of Zion, was third with a score of 244.  The winner of the overall low net title was Pam Brown from Naperville, with a score of 209.

The players also competed within flights based on their age, ranging from 50 to 79, and prizes were awarded in both low gross and low net categories.

For Flight A:

First Low Gross: Jan Bowers, Lincoln
Second Low Gross: Lucy Sievers, Wilmette
First Low Net: Chris Clark, Bloomington
Second Low Net: Karri Thiessen, McHenry

Flight B:

First Low Gross: Roberta Sentel, Creal Springs
Second Low Gross: Maureen Sheehan, Grayslake
First Low Net: Pam Brown, Naperville
Second Low Net: Pat Flynn, Chicago

Flight C:

First Low Gross: Janice Kimpel, Urbana
Second Low Gross: Char McLear, McHenry
First Low Net: Nancy Laser, Elk Grove
Second Low Net: Meg Barnosky, Peoria

Flight D:

First Low Gross: Rosalie Barnet, Coal Valley
Second Low Gross: Martha O’Boyle, Palos Heights
First Low Net: Gwen Bolster, Rockford
Second Low Net: Ann Harshman, Decatur

Flight E:

First Low Gross: Jackie Schwarz, Huntly
Second Low Gross: :Linda Smith, Winnebago
First Low Net: Kathy Kazmar, Plainfield
Second Low Net: Mereva Sholl, Machesney Park

Flight F:

First Low Gross: Sandy Honaker, Chicago
Second Low Gross: Sally Wessels, Mt. Morris
First Low Net: Marilyn Wallen, Rockton
Second Low Net: Amy St. John, Peoria

State Senior Past Champions

2017 Senior Championship Final Results
2016 Senior Championship Final Results
2015 Senior Championship Final Results
2014 Senior Championship Final Results
2013 Senior Championship Final Results